Search This website


Ministry of Railways
Salient Features of New all India Time Table ‘Trains at a

New Time Table Comes into Effect from 1st July 2011
The Ministry of Railways has released its new All
India Railway Time Table known as “TRAINS AT A GLANCE
(TAG)” which has come into effect from 1st July, 2011. In
addition to this All India Time table, all the 17 zonal Railways
have also released their zonal railway time tables which too
have come into effect from 1st July, 2011. This Time Table
includes the new class of trains which were announced in
this year’s Railway Budget namely, Double Decker AC trains,
Vivek Expres, Kavi Guru Express and Rajya Rani Express.
The salient features of the All India Railway Time Table i.e.
TAG are as under :

1. Encouraged by the public response over the past few
years all the user-friendly features of Trains at a Glance viz.
how to read a table, route map, station index, trains
between important stations, station code index, Train
number index, Train name index, has been retained.

2. Five digit numbering scheme for train services has come
into force from 20th December, 2010. This has been
necessitated as the numbers in four digit numbering scheme
got exhausted as also to enable capture of all types of
passenger train services viz. Duronto, Rajdhani, Shatabdi,
and other Mail/Express services, sub-urban, holiday
specials, etc. on Indian Railways. The five-digit train
numbering has been accordingly indicated in Trains at a

3. Colour coding scheme adopted for various categories of
(a) Pink for Rajdhani Express, Shatabdi Express,
JanShatabdi Express, Garib Rath Express and Duronto
(b) Yellow for Double Decker services and other
(d) blue/white for other mail/Express trains.

4. New category of services viz. Double Decker services,
Rajya Rani services, Vivek Express, Kavi Guru Express have
been included.

5. Commercial information of passenger use and interest
viz. advance reservation period, reservation through
internet, refund rules and rail travel concessions have been
suitably updated. New addition to the fare chart is the fare
for AC and mixed type of Duronto services.

6. Information regarding Vigilance organization, Public
grievance machinery, disaster management and catering
services have been incorporated.

7. The Metro Railway, Kolkata has been added in the list of
Zonal railways. The website addresses of all Zonal railways
have been added this time.

· Budget announcements: The details of all the train
services announced and which have been incorporated in
the Trains at a Glance are as under:

Name of services. No. of service
· Duronto Services. 09
· Double Decker AC. 02
· Shatabdi. 03
· Kavi guru Express. 04
· Vivek Express. 04
· Rajya Rani Express. 10
· Express services. 57

· Category-wise details:
I. Duronto trains: Duronto Train services were
conceptualized in the year 2009-2010. At present 23 pairs
of Duronto services are operational. In this year’s Railway
Budget 09 pairs of Duronto services have been proposed,
which are as under:
1. Allahabad-Mumbai AC Duronto (bi-weekly)
2. Pune- Ahmedabad AC Duronto (tri-weekly)
3. Sealdah – Puri non AC Duronto (tri-weekly)
4. Secunderabad- Visakhapatnam AC Duronto (Tri-weekly)
5. Madurai- Chennai AC Duronto (Bi-weekly)
6. Chennai – Thiruvananthapuram AC Duronto (Bi-weekly)
7. Mumbai Central- New Delhi AC Duronto (Bi-weekly)
8. Nizamuddin-Ajmer non-AC Duronto(Bi-weekly)
9. Shalimar – Patna Duronto (Tri-weekly)
II. Double Decker AC:
1. Jaipur- Delhi
2. Ahmedabad-Mumbai
III. Shatabdi Express:
1. Pune -Secunderabad
2. Jaipur-Agra
3. Ludhiana – Delhi
IV. Vivek Express: To mark the 150th birth anniversary of
Swami Vivekananda which will be celebrated in 2013,
“VivekExpress” are being proposed as under:
1. Dibrugarh- Thiruvanthapuram-Kanniyakumari Express
(weekly) via
2. Kokrajhar
3. Dwarka-Tuticorin Express (weekly) via Wadi
4. Howrah-Mangalore Express (Weekly) via Palghat
5. Bandra (T)- Jammu Tawi Express (Weekly) via Marwar-
Degana- Ratangarh-
6. Jakhal- Ludhiana
V. Kavi Guru Express: As a homage to the great poet Kavi
Guru Ravindra Nath Tagore, it is proposed to run the
following Kavi Guru Express trains:
1. Howrah-Azimganj Express (daily) via Sagardighi
2. Guwahati- Jaipur Express (weekly)
3. Howrah-Bolpur Express (daily)
4. Howrah-Porbander Express (weekly)
VI. Rajya Rani Express: A new set of trains connecting state
capitals with important cities/towns in those states are as
1. Sawantwadi Road – Mumbai Express (daily)
2. Saharsa – Patna Intercity Express (daily)
3. Meerut- Lucknow Intercity Express (daily)
4. Mysore – Bangalore Express (daily)
5. Damoh – Bhopal Intercity Express (daily)
6. Silghat – Dhubri Intercity Express (tri-weekly via Guwahati
– Kokrajhar – Jogighopa)
7. Bankura – Howrah Express (tri-weekly)
8. Nilambur Road – Thiruvananthapuram Link Express (daily)
9. Jharsuguda – Bhubaneswar Express (tri-weekly)
10. Manmad – Mumbai Express (daily) via Nasik
Source: PIB

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.

PME Due Date

Master Circular No. 25

Copy of Railway Board’s letter No. 69/H/3/11 dated 06.12.1974

Subject: Implementation of the Recommendations of the Visual Sub-Committee.

6. Periodical re-examination of serving Railway Employees:

6.l. In order to ensure the continued ability of Railway employees in Classes A l, A 2, A 3, B l and B 2 to discharge their duties with safety, they will be required to appear for re-examination at the following stated intervals throughout their service as indicated below:

6.1.1. Classes A l, A 2 and A 3 —At the termination of every period of three years, calculated from the date of appointment until they attain the age of 45 years, and thereafter annually until the conclusion of their service.

Note: (l) The staff in categories A l, A 2 and A 3 should be sent for special medical examination in the interest of safety under the following circumstances unless they have been under the treatment of a Railway Medical Officer.

(a) Having undergone any treatment or operation for eye trouble irrespective of the duration of sickness.

(b) Absence from duty for a period in excess of 90 days.

(2) If any employee in medical category A has been periodically medically examined at any time within one year prior to his attaining the age of 45, his next medical examination should be held one year from the due date of the last medical examination and subsequent medical examination annually thereafter.

If, however, such an employee has been medically examined, at any time earlier, than one year prior to his attaining the age of 45, his next medical examination should be held on the date he attains the age of 45 and subsequent medical examination annually thereafter.

Ammendment: It was ammended in 1993 as below

Age Group PME Due

Age 00-45 every 4yrs

Age 45-55 every 2yrs

Age 55-60 every year
As per Rly Bd's Guideline of Medical Exam issued vide LNo. 88/H/5/12 dated 24-01-1993

a) PME would be done at the termination of every period of 4 years from date of appointment / Initial medical Exam till the date of attainment of age of 45 years, every 2 years upto 55 years & there after annual till retirement.
b) Employees who has been periodically examined at any time within 2years prior to his attaining the age of 45years would be examined after 2years from the date of last PME & subsequent PME for every 2years upto 55years age.Of

NRMU 4 you

6.1.2. Classes B-1 and B-2—On attaining the age of 45 years, and thereafter at the termination of every period of five years.